Natura 2000

Service Description

Natura 2000 is a system of protected areas established by the European Union on a uniform basis throughout Europe. It comprises the areas designated by the member states in accordance with the EC Birds Directive and the Fauna-Flora-Habitat Directive (FFH Directive) and specifies uniform protection provisions. Such protected areas have been designated for all animal and plant species and habitats listed in Annexes I and II of the Habitats Directive and Annex 1 of the EC Birds Directive.

The Natura 2000 ecological network plays a crucial role in efforts to protect biodiversity in Europe.

Thuringia has

  • 44 EC bird sanctuaries,
  • 212 FFH sites and
  • 35 FFH objects for bats
    as Natura 2000 sites to the EU. This corresponds to about 17 % of the state's area.

Source: Zuständigkeitsfinder Thüringen (Linie6PLus)

Competent Authority

Thüringer Landesamt Umwelt, Bergbau und Naturschutz (TLUBN)

Göschwitzer Str. 41
07745 Jena

Further Authorities

Landratsamt Saale-Holzland-Kreis - Untere Naturschutzbehörde
Schloßgasse 17
07607 Eisenberg
036691 115
036691 70-716