Motor vehicle license plate short term license plate application

Service Description

Short-term license plates are intended for test or transfer drives and may only be used on one vehicle. Other driving purposes are not permitted and may be penalized.
The short-term license plate is composed of a distinguishing sign and an identification number consisting only of digits and beginning with "03" or "04". The expiration date is written on the license plate in a yellow field on the right-hand side, with the day at the top, the month below, and the year below. The short-term license plate is valid for a maximum of five days, after which it may no longer be used and automatically loses its validity.

Short-term license plates may be issued if

  • the vehicle to be driven with it is known and entered in the vehicle registration document,
  • an EC type approval is available or an individual approval or operating permit has been issued,
  • for used vehicles a valid main inspection (HU) for the vehicle is proven and
  • a motor vehicle liability insurance exists.

If these requirements are met, the vehicle may be used on public roads in Germany for up to 5 days. The period depends on the expiration date, which is set by the registration authority.

In addition, short-term license plates may in principle not be used by the vehicle owner or any other person on a vehicle other than the one registered in the vehicle registration document.

If the requirements regarding the operating license or the HU are not fulfilled, the usability of the vehicle is limited locally:

  • If the vehicle does not correspond to an EC type or if an individual approval has not been granted, only journeys in connection with obtaining the operating license are permitted, namely to the nearest assessment center in the district of the registration authority that has assigned the short-term license plate or to an adjacent district.
  • If the date for the performance of the general inspection or safety inspection is prior to the expiration of the validity of the short-term license plate, only trips to and from an inspection center in the registration district or an adjacent district may be made without proof that the inspection and inspection have been performed.
  • If the vehicle is not found to be free of defects during such examination or test, trips for the immediate repair of any significant or minor defects found may also be made to an appropriate facility in the registration district or an adjoining district and return.

This exemption does not apply to vehicles that are determined to be unsafe for road use.

Source: Zuständigkeitsfinder Thüringen (Linie6PLus)

No competent authority found

Please enter your location.

Kfz-Kennzeichen: Kurzzeitkennzeichen

Leistungsbeschreibung

Kurzzeitkennzeichen sind für Probe- oder Überführungsfahrten vorgesehen und dürfen nur an einem Fahrzeug verwendet werden. Das Kurzzeitkennzeichen setzt sich aus einem Unterscheidungszeichen und einer Erkennungsnummer zusammen, die nur aus Ziffern besteht und mit "03" oder "04" beginnt. Das Ablaufdatum ist auf dem Kennzeichen in einem gelben Feld am rechten Rand vermerkt, wobei oben der Tag, darunter der Monat und darunter das Jahr steht. Das Kurzzeitkennzeichen gilt höchstens fünf Tage, danach darf es nicht mehr verwendet werden.

Kurzzeitkennzeichen können ab 1. April 2015 zugeteilt werden, wenn

  • das Fahrzeug, das damit gefahren werden soll, bekannt ist und im Fahrzeugschein eingetragen wird,
  • das Fahrzeug einem genehmigten Typ entspricht oder eine Einzelgenehmigung erteilt ist,
  • eine gültige Hauptuntersuchung (HU) für das Fahrzeug nachgewiesen wird und
  • eine Kraftfahrzeug-Haftpflichtversicherung besteht.

Sind diese Voraussetzungen erfüllt, darf das Fahrzeug bis zu 5 Tage am öffentlichen Straßenverkehr in Deutschland teilnehmen. Der Zeitraum richtet sich nach dem Ablaufdatum, das von der Zulassungsbehörde festgesetzt wird.

Außerdem dürfen Kurzzeitkennzeichen grundsätzlich weder vom Fahrzeughalter noch einer anderen Person an einem anderen als dem im Fahrzeugschein eingetragenen Fahrzeug verwendet werden.

Sind die Voraussetzungen hinsichtlich der Betriebserlaubnis oder der HU nicht erfüllt, ist die Nutzbarkeit des Fahrzeuges örtlich begrenzt:

  • Entspricht das Fahrzeug nicht einem genehmigten Typ oder ist eine Einzelgenehmigung nicht erteilt, sind lediglich Fahrten im Zusammenhang mit der Erlangung der Betriebserlaubnis zulässig und zwar zur nächstgelegenen Begutachtungsstelle im Bezirk der Zulassungsbehörde, die das Kurzzeitkennzeichen zugeteilt hat, oder einem angrenzenden Bezirk.
  • Wenn der Termin zur Durchführung der Hauptuntersuchung oder Sicherheitsprüfung nach § 29 Straßenverkehrs-Zulassungs-Ordnung (StVZO) vor dem Ablauf der Gültigkeit des Kurzzeitkennzeichens liegt, dürfen ohne einen Nachweis der durchgeführten Untersuchung und Prüfung nur Fahrten zur nächstgelegenen Untersuchungsstelle im Zulassungsbezirk und zurück durchgeführt werden.
  • Wird dem Fahrzeug bei dieser Untersuchung oder Prüfung keine Mängelfreiheit bescheinigt, dürfen auch Fahrten zur unmittelbaren Reparatur festgestellter erheblicher oder geringer Mängel in einer nächstgelegenen geeigneten Einrichtung im Zulassungsbezirk oder einem angrenzenden Bezirk und zurück durchgeführt werden.

Für Fahrzeuge, die als verkehrsunsicher eingestuft werden, gilt diese Ausnahme nicht.

Keine zuständige Stelle gefunden

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Ort an.