Sensory Disability Benefit

Service Description

Blind, deaf or deaf-blind people who have their residence or usual place of abode within the meaning of Section 30 (3) of the First Book of the Social Code in Thuringia receive sensory disability allowance to compensate for the additional expenses caused by their disability without taking income and assets into account. The sensory disability allowance must be applied for.
Sensory disability allowance is also paid to blind, deaf or deaf-blind people who

  1. have their residence or habitual abode in the European Union and not in the area of application of the Basic Law and are employed or self-employed in Thuringia as cross-border commuters,
  2. have their residence or habitual abode in Thuringia and, as a frontier worker, are engaged in employment or self-employment in the European Union outside the area of application of the Basic Law, or
  3. are employed or self-employed in a member state of the European Union outside the scope of the Basic Law as a seconded employee of an employer working in Thuringia or after self-employment in Thuringia, provided that this employment or self-employment does not exceed the expected duration of 24 months.

A person is blind if he or she completely lacks sight. Persons whose visual acuity is not more than 1/50 in either eye or in both eyes, or who have other visual impairments of such severity that they are to be treated as equivalent to this impairment of visual acuity, shall be treated as blind.

Deaf within the meaning of the law are people with congenital or acquired deafness on both sides or people with congenital or acquired hearing loss bordering on deafness on both sides, insofar as they have been awarded the mark "Gl" under the law on severe disabilities due to the hearing impairment.

Deaf-blind persons within the meaning of this law are persons for whom a degree of disability of at least 70 is recognized due to a hearing impairment and a degree of disability of 100 due to a visual impairment.

The sensory disability allowance is 360 euros per month for blind people as of July 1, 2017. For deaf-blind people, this amount increases by 100 euros. Deaf people receive 100 euros per month.

If the blind or deaf person is in an inpatient facility, the sensory disability allowance is reduced to 82.10 euros per month. For deaf-blind people living in an inpatient facility, this amount increases to 164.20 euros.

Benefits that blind, deaf and deaf-blind people receive to compensate for the additional expenses caused by blindness, deafness and deaf-blindness under other legal provisions are offset against the sensory disability allowance.

If blind or deaf-blind people receive cash, non-cash or combination benefits of home care, the sensory disability allowance is reduced to 164.20 euros per month for care level 2 and to 114.80 euros per month for care levels 3 to 5. For deaf-blind people, the amounts increase by 100 euros in each case.
Deaf people receive 100 euros regardless of the care level.

Source: Zuständigkeitsfinder Thüringen (Linie6PLus)

No competent authority found

Please enter your location.

Sinnesbehindertengeld

Leistungsbeschreibung

Blinde, gehörlose oder taubblinde Menschen, die ihren Wohnsitz oder gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt im Sinne von § 30 Abs. 3 des Ersten Buchs Sozialgesetzbuch in Thüringen haben, erhalten zum Ausgleich der durch ihre Behinderung bedingten Mehraufwendungen Sinnesbehindertengeld ohne Anrechnung von Einkommen und Vermögen. Das Sinnesbehindertengeld muss beantragt werden.
Sinnesbehindertengeld erhalten auch blinde, gehörlose oder taubblinde Menschen, die

  1. ihren Wohnsitz oder gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in der Europäischen Union und nicht im Geltungsbereich des Grundgesetzes haben und als Grenzgänger eine Beschäftigung oder selbstständige Tätigkeit in Thüringen ausüben,
  2. ihren Wohnsitz oder gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in Thüringen haben und als Grenzgänger eine Beschäftigung oder selbständige Tätigkeit in der Europäischen Union außerhalb des Geltungsbereichs des Grundgesetzes ausüben oder
  3. als Entsandte eines in Thüringen tätigen Arbeitgebers oder nach einer selbstständigen Erwerbstätigkeit in Thüringen in einem Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Union außerhalb des Geltungsbereichs des Grundgesetzes eine Beschäftigung oder selbstständige Tätigkeit ausüben, sofern diese die voraussichtliche Dauer von 24 Monaten nicht überschreitet.

Blind ist, wem das Augenlicht vollständig fehlt. Gleichgestellt sind Personen, deren Sehschärfe auf keinem Auge und auch nicht beidäugig mehr als 1/50 beträgt oder bei denen andere Störungen des Sehvermögens von einem solchen Schweregrad vorliegen, dass sie dieser Beeinträchtigung der Sehschärfe gleichzustellen sind.

Gehörlos im Sinne des Gesetzes sind Menschen mit angeborener oder erworbener Taubheit beiderseits oder Menschen mit angeborener oder erworbener an Taubheit grenzenden Schwerhörigkeit beiderseits, soweit ihnen aufgrund der Hörbehinderung das Merkzeichen "Gl" nach dem Schwerbehindertenrecht zuerkannt worden ist.

Taubblind im Sinne dieses Gesetzes sind Personen, bei denen wegen einer Störung der Hörfunktion ein Grad der Behinderung von mindestens 70 und wegen einer Störung des Sehvermögens ein Grad der Behinderung von 100 anerkannt ist.

Das Sinnesbehindertengeld beträgt ab dem 1. Juli 2017 für blinde Menschen 360 Euro monatlich. Für taubblinde Menschen erhöht sich dieser Betrag um 100 Euro. Gehörlose Menschen erhalten 100 Euro monatlich.

Befindet sich der blinde oder gehörlose Mensch in einer stationären Einrichtung, verringert sich das Sinnesbehindertengeld auf 82,10 Euro monatlich. Für taubblinde Menschen, die in einer stationären Einrichtung leben erhöht sich dieser Betrag auf 164,20 Euro.

Leistungen, die blinde, gehörlose und taubblinde Menschen zum Ausgleich der durch die Blindheit, Gehörlosigkeit und Taubblindheit bedingten Mehraufwendungen nach anderen Rechtsvorschriften erhalten, werden auf das Sinnesbehindertengeld angerechnet.

Erhalten blinde oder taubblinde Menschen Geld-, Sach- bzw. Kombinationsleistungen der häuslichen Pflege, verringert sich das Sinnesbehindertengeld bei Pflegegrad 2 auf 164,20 Euro und bei den Pflegegraden 3 bis 5 auf 114,80 Euro monatlich. Für taubblinde Menschen erhöhen sich die Beträge um jeweils 100 Euro.
Gehörlose Menschen erhalten unabhängig vom Pflegegrad 100 Euro.

Keine zuständige Stelle gefunden

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Ort an.