Biosphere Reserves

Service Description

The protected area category of biosphere reserves was established by UNESCO as part of the Man and the Biosphere program. In these areas, the aim is to create a sustainable balance between the sometimes conflicting goals of preserving biological diversity, promoting economic development, and preserving associated cultural values (UNESCO, published 1996).

To achieve this goal, biosphere reserves are zoned. While in the core zone no economic use of the natural assets may take place, in the maintenance zone the management of the areas according to the nature conservation goals is in the foreground. In the development zone, on the other hand, which makes up the largest part of the biosphere reserve in terms of area, the focus is on the development and promotion of innovative methods for the sustainable management of resources. The preservation of the characteristic cultural landscape is thus a central objective of the biosphere reserves.

The implementation of demonstration projects, but also the transfer of the results obtained from them to other regions, is another important concern of the biosphere reserves. Research and environmental monitoring, but also public relations and education for sustainable development are therefore further tasks of the biosphere reserves.

Extensive information about the biosphere reserve Vessertal-Thuringian Forest and the biosphere reserve Rhön in the Free State of Thuringia can be found on the websites of thebiosphere reserve Vessertal-Thuringian Forest.

Source: Zuständigkeitsfinder Thüringen (Linie6PLus)

No competent authority found

Please enter your location.

Biosphärenreservate

Leistungsbeschreibung

Die Schutzgebietskategorie der Biosphärenreservate wurde durch die UNESCO im Rahmen des Programms "Der Mensch und die Biosphäre" ins Leben gerufen. In diesen Gebieten soll ein nachhaltiges Gleichgewicht zwischen den teilweise widersprüchlichen Zielen der Erhaltung der biologischen Vielfalt, der Förderung der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung und der Bewahrung zugehöriger kultureller Werte geschaffen werden (UNESCO, herausgegeben 1996).

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, werden Biosphärenreservate zoniert. Während in der Kernzone keinerlei wirtschaftliche Nutzung der Naturgüter stattfinden darf, steht in der Pflegezone die Bewirtschaftung der Flächen entsprechend der Naturschutzziele im Vordergrund. In der Entwicklungszone, die flächenmäßig den größten Teil des Biosphärenreservates ausmacht, steht dagegen die Entwicklung und Förderung innovativer Methoden zur nachhaltigen Bewirtschaftung der Ressourcen im Vordergrund. Die Bewahrung der charakteristischen Kulturlandschaft ist also eine zentrale Zielsetzung der Biosphärenreservate.

Die Durchführung von Demonstrationsprojekten, aber auch die Übertragung der daraus erzielten Ergebnisse auf andere Regionen ist ein weiteres wichtiges Anliegen der Biosphärenreservate. Forschung und Umweltbeobachtung, aber auch Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung stellen daher weitere Aufgabenbereiche der Biosphärenreservate dar.

Umfangreiche Informationen zum Biosphärenreservat Vessertal-Thüringer Wald und dem Biosphärenreservat Rhön im Freistaat Thüringen finden Sie auf den Websites des Biosphärenreservats Vessertal-Thüringer Wald.

Keine zuständige Stelle gefunden

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Ort an.