Municipal honors

Service Description

Personalities who have rendered outstanding services to a municipality can be honored by the latter with awards. The achievements to be honored can be very different, for example economic, communal political or artistic merits.

Honorary citizenship: The award of honorary citizenship is one way in which the municipality can honor a person within the framework of the Thuringian Municipal Code (ThürKO). Since the right of honorary citizenship is a personal right, it can only be awarded to natural persons. An award of the honorary citizenship to an already deceased person is not possible. The bestowal of honorary citizenship has no close legal significance; it does not entail any special rights or obligations or even privileges.

Other honors: The municipality can determine further possibilities for occasion-related honors in a statute and, for example, award specially made medals, lapel pins, coat of arms plates or honorary rings. The bylaws may also regulate the procedure for honoring (e.g., proposals about persons to be honored must be submitted in writing to the municipal council/town council).

State awards: These include:

  • the Thuringian Order of Merit,
  • the letter of honor of the Free State of Thuringia,
  • the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany and
  • the Citizen's Award.
For more information on state honors and awards, click here.

Source: Zuständigkeitsfinder Thüringen (Linie6PLus)

Competent Authority

Landratsamt Ilm-Kreis - Büro Landrätin / Controlling / Beteiligungen / Presse

Address
Ritterstraße 14
99310 Arnstadt, Stadt
Telephone
03628 738-101
Fax
03628 738-111
DE-Mail
Contact us

Employees

Frau S. Linke
Address
Ritterstraße 14
99310 Arnstadt, Stadt
Telephone
03628 738-113
Department
Büro Landrätin
Room
241

Kommunale Ehrungen

Leistungsbeschreibung

Persönlichkeiten, die sich um eine Gemeinde besonders verdient gemacht haben, können von dieser mit Auszeichnungen geehrt werden. Die zu würdigenden Leistungen können dabei sehr unterschiedlich sein, beispielsweise kann es sich um wirtschaftliche, kommunalpolitische oder künstlerische Verdienste handeln.

Ehrenbürgerrecht: Die Verleihung des Ehrenbürgerrechts stellt im Rahmen der Thüringer Kommunalordnung (ThürKO) eine Möglichkeit der Ehrung durch die Gemeinde dar. Da es sich bei dem Ehrenbürgerrecht um ein Persönlichkeitsrecht handelt, kann es nur an natürliche Personen verliehen werden. Eine Verleihung des Ehrenbürgerrechts an einen bereits Verstorbenen ist nicht möglich. Die Verleihung des Ehrenbürgerrechts ist ohne engere rechtliche Bedeutung; besondere Rechte und Pflichten oder gar Privilegien sind damit nicht verbunden.

Weitere Ehrungen: Die Gemeinde kann in einer Satzung weitere Möglichkeiten für Anlass bezogene Ehrungen bestimmen und beispielsweise eigens angefertigte Medaillen, Anstecknadeln, Wappenteller oder Ehrenringe verleihen. Die Satzung kann auch das Verfahren zur Ehrung regeln (z.B. Vorschläge über zu Ehrende sind in schriftlicher Form an die Gemeindevertretung/ Stadtverordnetenversammlung zu richten).

Staatliche Auszeichnungen: Hierzu zählen u.a.:

  • der Thüringer Verdienstorden,
  • der Ehrenbrief des Freistaats Thüringen,
  • der Verdienstorden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und
  • der Bürgerpreis.
Weitere Informationen zu staatlichen Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen finden Sie hier.

Quelle: Zuständigkeitsfinder Thüringen (Linie6PLus)

Zuständige Stelle

Landratsamt Ilm-Kreis - Büro Landrätin / Controlling / Beteiligungen / Presse

Adresse
Ritterstraße 14
99310 Arnstadt, Stadt
Telefon
03628 738-101
Fax
03628 738-111

Mitarbeiter*innen

Frau S. Linke
Adresse
Ritterstraße 14
99310 Arnstadt, Stadt
Telefon
03628 738-113
Abteilung
Büro Landrätin
Raum
241